Autumn: journey into dark

The Autumnal Equinox occurred yesterday and it is now officially autumn here in the northern hemisphere. We are halfway between the longest day of light and the shortest day of light. And light being what we are, it is on my mind–a lot. The world as we know it these days is very much a world of dualities. But these dualities are just part of the illusion of separation from the divine. My walking meditation is firmly rooted in union. With each step I merge with the earth. With each breath I become air. The boundaries of skin and bone, body and mind vanish as I am no more. Becoming aware of this oneness, I lose myself. Or really, the I that I am becomes the All that I am. I am found–within the divine, of the divine.

As the amount of light each day slides away, the darkness presses firmly in on both ends of the day. One of my favorite times is actually that window where the earth is just turning toward the sun or just turning away from the sun–sunrise and sunset. There’s a lull of time with the dawn and the gloaming. It’s light but not light, dark but not dark. It’s a floating of light and dark. And for me these times are the reminders that if all is light, then dark is light, too. Dark is but an aspect of light, just as colors are aspects of light. While this may be simplifying things, it is the easiest way to bring it into awareness.

I normally walk in the early morning and on sunny days I notice all the shadows. Shadows of trees, birds flying overhead, my body. I love it when I walk the fence shadows like train tracks. And sometimes it’s my shadow walking the fences. Stepping into the shadow world is not dark. It’s just a shift of perspective, kind of like looking at film negatives. And I find on my walks when I join with the earth, the air, the colors, that occasionally I am in the dark. As I walk in this darkness, there is no I. And even in this darkness, there is still only light.

With months to go until the shortest day of light, many walks stretch out before me. There are many shadows to merge with, many colors to become. And I will journey into the dark, knowing there is only light.

Namaste

2 thoughts on “Autumn: journey into dark

  1. Haven’t been here in awhile Elizabeth, so but so glad I came today (though missed reading this on the equinox.) I think your prose writing is becoming so beautiful – not a surprise considering your haiku and transmission. Hope you are well – Lisa
    P.S. my multi-species family is doing very well, i carried out on most of the suggestions you made in our session and all three animals seem much happier:)

Leave a comment